Minimizing With The KonMari Method

I follow all these minimalist groups on Facebook and I always see them talk about something called the ‘KonMari Method.‘ Since I had never heard of it before I decided to do some research, and see what it was all about. It turns out it’s a method for decluttering your entire house one section at a time. This seemed like the perfect fit for me because I’m notorious for moving piles of stuff from one room to the next, and never dealing with the underlying issue. I also, surprisingly, really HATE clutter. It distracts me. I’m easily overwhelmed by too much stuff, and can’t wrap my mind around taking care of it. I generally avoid any section of my house that is too full, which in return really limits my ability to take action and dive right into hobbies.

After searching through the comments section of some posts, I found someone who mentioned an app that breaks everything down into sections and lets you track your progress with before and after pictures of everything. I decided to try out the first section, which is clothing. You start with a before picture, which consists of ALL of your clothing items, including: tops, bottoms, dresses, outerwear, socks and stockings, underwear, seasonal wear, bags, hats and belts, scarves, jewelry,  and shoes. You round-up EVERYTHING and put it into a pile, so that you can really grasp every piece that you own. It’s important not to skip anything in this process. After you’ve rounded it up into a pile and taken your picture then its time to start going through each individual section of your clothing, making sure to touch every single piece. Touching every piece is crucial part of the method, because you want to see if it holds any meaning for you. There will be things you don’t care about and aren’t exactly sure why you’ve held onto them this long, and there will be things you absolutely don’t want to part with. Both options are okay.

Here is my before picture:

clothes-before

I was actually really surprised that I owned this much clothing, because I rotate the same 3 shirts around throughout the week and only wear shorts year-round. Compared to a lot of people this may not seem like that much, but for someone who wears a very basic outfit this is a substantial amount of clothing that is just wasting space. I managed to go through everything and get rid of anything that didn’t fit, and shoes and hats that I no longer wear.  I also had some cycling outfits that I never even took the tags off of, so I posted those up on eBay. After about thirty minutes or less, these were the leftovers..

clothing-after

 

The next step in the process is to fold and organize it neatly, making sure each piece has a place of its own. I plan on looking more into the method before I do the organizing part of it, so for now I’ve just placed it back where it was before. I purchased the book for my kindle and will be reading it this week!

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying: A Simple, Effective Way to Banish Clutter Forever
by Marie Kondo

 

Leave a Reply

