Too Much Wasted Time

phone

I was sitting there aimlessly scrolling through Facebook, thinking about all the things I needed to get done. Not just the things I NEEDED to get done, but the things I always complain I never have any time for. And then it hit me.

What if I stopped wasting so much time on my phone, and used those precious hours on something more important? Before I could do anything, I wanted to get an estimate for exactly how much time I was wasting on my phone in total, so I downloaded this app called Moment, and set myself a limit of 1 hour and 30 minutes.

By 4 PM the alarm was already going off any time I unlocked my phone, letting me know I had used all of that 1 hour and 30 minutes. I was a little dumbfounded that the day was still full, yet I had used up all of my phone time before it was even dinner time. I had a mix of emotions, mostly withdrawals. It was a weird feeling that made it seem as if I missing something by not being on my phone, like something detrimental was happening and I was stuck somewhere else and completely helpless. By 8PM I extended the time limit to 2 hours and 30 minutes, and then managed to max out that time.

The next day I decided that I wouldn’t put a time limit on myself at all, and instead would just see how many hours I spent on my phone during a normal day.

The result…

5 HOURS AND 43 MINUTES!

Wow…If that’s the normal amount of time I spend on my phone daily that means I spend roughly 40 hours on my phone every single week. That is a full time job. I could do SO many things with 40 hours! That’s exactly where all of my time is going, and it was so easy to get trapped in this repetitiveness without even realizing it.

I’m going to keep tracking this daily and see if I have any habits that I can break. Like for instance, I know that I spend around 30-45 minutes on my phone first thing in the morning while I lay in bed. I have a 45 minute guitar practice schedule that I try to get in daily and this could be the perfect opportunity for it.

I’m going to test it for the rest of the week, and make adjustments accordingly. Because with 5 hours and 43 minutes a day I could build a new business..or two.

Leave a Reply

