Making Room For The Wants

Don’t just pretend that your life looks great, why don’t you go out there and actually make it great?

Bucket List

The best method of decluttering distractions for me has been deciding whats most important in my life. I have a running list of all the things I’d like to do before I die, and then it’s my job to make time for those things. The most interesting thing I’ve found in the process of a bucket list, is how few things get checked off after two years of not looking at it. That’s a long stretch of time to not make room for stuff that I enjoy. In 730 days, I’ve only managed to cross 3 things off of my list. That means I’m not even dedicating 1% of my time to my goals. Now I’m honest in admitting my lack of dedication, but are you just as honest with yourself? Most days you probably work your 9-5 job, come home, do dinner, take care of the kids, and then before you know it’s time for bed and the process starts all over again. The weekend comes around and just when you thought you’ve found the time to dedicate yourself, one of the kids gets sick, or something else steals your attention. It’s a never-ending battle with reality, but saying you don’t have time for stuff is just finding an excuse, and it makes you feel better to fill people full of excuses rather than admit you just suck at prioritizing.

So what I’m saying is, find some time. Sit down and make a list of all the things you’d like to do but haven’t had the chance to do yet. Keep that list somewhere safe and add to it frequently. Don’t try to cross everything off your list all at once, and don’t become frustrated when stuff doesn’t work out the way it’s supposed to. Life works in mysterious ways, and the journey is half the fun. If it wasn’t at least a little bit difficult to make progress then everyone would be doing it!

Leave a Reply

